Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Karnataka won the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013-14

Karnataka won the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2013-14 by defeating Railways by four wickets at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on 16 March 2014. Karnataka for the first time won the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Recently, Karnataka won the Ranji and Irani Cup champion and this is the third consecutive tournament win for the team.
Railways scored 157 in 47.4 overs whereas Karnataka scored 158 in 43 over for six wickets. Abhimanyu Mithun was named as the man of the match for picking up 4 wickets for 19 runs.
About Vijay Hazare Trophy
• Vijay Hazare Trophy was started in 2002-03. It is also known as Ranji One Day Trophy. It is a domestic competition among the states teams from the Ranji Trophy for limited over.
• Tamil Nadu won the trophy four times and Delhi won the trophy in 2012-13.
• Railway won the trophy in 2005-06.

No comments: