Home » » Important Battles of Indian History

Important Battles of Indian History

Written By Easy Life on Tuesday, October 22, 2013 | 10/22/2013 09:32:00 AM

Important Battles of Indian History
327-26Alexander invades India. Defeats Porus in the Battle of Hydaspes (Jhelum) 326 BC
305Chandragupta Maurya defeats the Greek King Seleucus.
216The Kalinga War. Conquest of Kalinga by Ashoka.
c. 155Menander's invasion of India
c. 90The Saka invade India
454The first Huna invasion
495The second Huna invasion
711-712The Arab invasion of Sind under Mohammed-bin-Qasim
1000-27Mahmud Ghazni invades India 17 times
1175-1206Invasions of Muhammad Ghori. First Battle of Tarain.
1191 - Prithvi Raj Chauhan defeats Muhammad Ghori; Second Battle of Tarain,
1192 - Muhammad Ghori defeats Prithvi Chauhan; Battle of Chandawar,
1194 - Muhammad Ghori defeats Jayachandra Gahadvala of Kanauj.
1294Alauddin Khilji invades the Yadava kingdom of Devagiri. The first Turkish invasion of the Deccan.
1398Timur invades India. Defeats the Tughlaq Sultan Mahmud Shah; the Sack of Delhi
1526Babur invades India and defeats the last Lodi Sultan Ibrahim Lohi in the first Battle of Panipat.
1539-40Battles of Chusa or Ghaghra (1539) and Kanauj or Ganges (1540) in which Sher Shah defeats Humayun.
1545Battle (siege) of kalinjar and death of Sher Shah Suri.
1556Second Battle of Panipat. Akbar defeats Hemu.
1565Battle of Rakatakshasi-Tangadi (Talikota) in which the forces of the empire of Vijanagar under King Sadasiva Raya and his regent Rama Raya are routed by the confederate forces of the Deccani states of Bijapur, Golkonda, Ahmadnagar, and Bidar.
1576Battle of Haldighati, Akbar defeats Rana Pratap of Mewar.
1632-33Conquest of Ahmadnagar by Shah Jahan.
1658Battles of Dharmat (April-May 1658) and Samugarh (June 8, 1658). Dara Shikoh, elest son of Shah Jahan, defeated by Aurangzeb.
1665Shivaji defeated by Raja Jai Singh and Treaty of Purandhar.
1739Invasion of India by Nadir Shah.
1746First Carnatic War.
1748-54Second Carnatic War.
1756-63Third Carnatic War.
1757Battle of Plassey. Siraj-ud-Daulah, the Nawab of Bengal, defeated by Clive.
1760Battle of Wandiwash, in which the English under Sir Eyre Coote defeated the French under Lally.
1762Third Battle of Panipat. Marathas defeated by Ahmad Shah Abdali.
1764Battle of Buxar. The English (under Munro) defeated Mir Kasim, the Nawab of Bengal and Nawab Shuja-ud-daulah of Awadh.
1767-69First Mysore War.
1774The Rohilla War between the Rohillas and the Nawab of Awadh supported by the East India Company.
1775-82First Maratha War
1780-82Maratha War
1780-84Second Mysore War
1792Third Mysore War
1799Fourth Mysore War, Defeat and death of Tipu Sultan
1802-04Second Maratha War
1817-18Third Maratha War
1845-46first Sikh War
1846Battle of Aliwal between the English and the Sikhs. The Sikhs were defeated.
1848-49Second Sikh war and annexation of the Punjab to British India.
1857The Revolt of 1857 (The First War of Indian Independence)
Share this article :
Copyright © 2015. CENTRAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES NEWS - All Rights Reserved
Proudly powered by Blogger