First in Governance

First President of IndiaDr. Rajendra Prasad (1950-1962)
First Prime Minister of IndiaJawaharlal Nehru (1947-1964). The first term lasted till 1952 after which he was re-elected.
First Vice President of IndiaDr. S Radhakrishan
First Deputy Prime Minister of IndiaVallabhbhai Patel
First Prime Minister to be voted out of OfficeIndia Ghandi (1977) when the Indian National Congress lost to he Janta Party.
First Sikh Prime MinisterManmohan Singh
First Sikh PresidentGiani Zail Singh
First Non-Congress Governmentby Janta Party with Morarji Desai as the Prime Minister (1977-1980)
First Prime Minster of India resigned without completing his full termMorarji Desai
First Prime Minister to lead a minority government for a full term(five years)P.V. Narasimha Rao, June 21, 1991 to May 16 1996
First Prime Minster from South IndiaP.V. Narasimha Rao, June 21, 1991 to May 16 1996
First Governor-GeneralWarren Hastings
First British Governor-GeneralLord William Bentick
First British Viceroy of IndiaLord Canning
First Governor General of Independent IndiaLord Mountbatten, 1947
First and Last Indian Governor-General of Indian UnionC Rajagopalachari, 1948
First Chief Justice of IndiaJustice Hiralal J Kania
First Indian to pass ICSSurendra Nath Banerjee
First Indian ICS OfficerSatyendranath Tagore, 1863
First Speaker of Lok SabhaShri G.V. Mavlankar
First Finance Minister of Independent IndiaShri R.K.Shanmukhan Chettys
Presentation of First Budget after India's IndependenceShri R.K.Shanmukhan Chettys on Nov. 26, 1947
First President to die in OfficeDr. Zakhir Hussain
First Prime Minister who did not face the ParliamentCharan Singh
First Chief Justice of Supreme Court to become President of IndiaJustice M Hidaytullah
First Education MinisterAbul Kalam Azad
First Home MinisterSardar Vallabhbhai Patel
First Chief Election CommissionerSukumar Sen
First Minister to regin from Union CabinetShyama Prasad Mukherjee (1950)

No comments: